News:

SCBWI members who are NEW to the Discussion Boards as of June 2023 must REGISTER. If you had an existing account BEFORE June 1, do not re-register.

Main Menu
SCBWI welcomes you to their "new" Discussion Boards. Everyone interested in children's literature is encouraged to join and participate in ongoing discussions. Play nice, have fun, and enjoy sharing with your peers from around the world.

NEED HELP POSTING? Go here! https://www.scbwidiscussionboards.org/index.php?topic=80554.msg1011631#msg1011631

Hello from the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia

Started by MLR, November 25, 2023, 03:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MLR

Hello! I'm Margie and I live in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia!  SCBWI has been a wealth of information for me as a newbie writer! I am a retired elementary teacher turned school librarian.  I spent most my career teaching young Deaf children before getting a School Library Media degree and working with both Deaf and Blind students. Upon retirement I worked as a manager for a satellite library of the county library system, but retired once again during covid. 
I began this writing adventure in retirement about 1 ½ years ago and hope to get the first book of my picture book series published one day.  SCBWI has been so valuable in providing resources for learning about this craft and about the publishing process.  I'm working my way through The Essential Guide to Publishing and I've participated in several craft and publishing webinars.  But diving into the publishing world is definitely not for the faint-hearted!!   
I am delighted to be part of the SCBWI family and have enjoyed perusing the message board! There's tons of valuable info here!